Monday, June 25, 2012

3DS environment sketch

I made another environment sketch with the 3DS. This time its also painted in 3D using five depth layers.

The 3D-effect can only be seen at the 3DS or other devices with a 3D-display. If you have one you can watch the painting in 3D here: There you can also watch how the image was painted.


There are videos for the first two 3DS paintings too.

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Nintendo 3Ds paintings

Here are two quick environment sketches done with the Nintento 3ds

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

animal studies

After a long time here are some animal studies using photo references. I try to update the blog more frequently again. I just had to do some other things during the last weeks.

Saturday, April 21, 2012

chill-out sketches

Here are some quick sketches, also done with the asus ep121.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Speedpainting I environments

I bought myself a tablet pc two weeks ago. Here are some of the sketches I made with it.

Monday, March 26, 2012

Urban sketching

Today I made another real life study using water colours...

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Urban Sketching

Some sketches I made during the last weeks.

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Illustration I Hush little Baby

So here's the final result of the illustration. It's not "high-end detailed", but I hope you like it.

Monday, March 12, 2012

Illustration (WIP_02) I Hush little Baby

current status of the illustration...

Illustration (WIP) I Hush little baby

I've began to paint a new illustration today. I tried to catch the basic idea and mood in this first step. Next I have to define the shapes (espacially of the billy goat)and the scene by adding further objects and details.

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Environment sketch I Hells Gate

Here is an environment sketch I painted spontaneously without an idea at the beginning. The second image is the initial black and white sketch.

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Character studies

I often have problems with characters in my speedpaintings, so I made some studies today. (Used photo references)

Saturday, March 3, 2012

Speedpainting I Pirate

Today's speedpainting. I lost my concentration while painting, so the shapes are really rough

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Environment sketch

Another environment sketch...

Environment sketches

Two environment sketches of tonight..

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Creature sketch

After a long time I tried to make a traditional creature sketch...

Sunday, February 26, 2012

Urban sketching

Here are some of the on location sketches I made at the last weekends...

Friday, February 24, 2012

A clockwork orange

Made just a study today...

Thursday, February 23, 2012

More stuff

Another cityscape speedpainting, but this time a night scene....

...and a rough study of a movie still (Shining was on TV)

Tuesday, February 21, 2012


Another cityscape speedpainting for today...


Here are three new speedpaintings. I focused on colours and tried to get a realistic look. The first one failed completely, but for the sake of completeness I show it.

Saturday, February 18, 2012


Here's the last speedpainting so far. The head in the foreground worried me and it still looks funny, but the perspective made it very hard to paint. Maybe I should do some reference studies another time.


I just want to bring this blog up to date with the stuff of the last days now. So don't be confused about all the posts at the moment ;)

Another speedpainting. It's subject is "storm".

BW Sketches

I did some speedpaintings in black and white, because it's easier to focus on light and shapes.

Speedpaintings II

Here's a second set of speedpaintings: